Appeal

to the Government of Spain from the Republican Party of the Faroe Islands

The solution to the crisis in Catalonia is dialogue and democracy

We all want a Europe where democracy, freedom of speech and the right to peaceful assembly and protest apply.

And we want crises to be solved by dialogue. Because we all know what the alternative is, and that is not an option.

We, Members of the Parliament of the Faroe Islands – *Løgtingið* - officials and other representatives of the Republican Party of the Faroe Islands - *Tjóðveldi* - hereby call on the Government of Spain to take steps to solve the crisis in Catalonia as soon as possible.

Political challenges need political solutions.

Using the judicial system to imprison political opponents solves nothing. It only escalates the problem.

We strongly denounce the imprisonment of people who are striving to advance dialogue, democracy, and use their right to self-determination through democratic means.

Like the UN Group on Arbitrary Detention and Amnesty International, we also call on you to release the Catalonian political prisoners immediately.

The only way forward – and the way to solve the crisis in Catalonia – is through dialogue and democracy.

We therefore call on you to pursue, as soon as possible, a genuine dialogue towards finding solutions based on equal respect and democracy, for the benefit of the people of Catalonia and Spain, and for Europe as a whole.

Faroe Islands, 16 October 2019

Høgni Hoydal	Sirið Stenberg	Gunnhild D. Niclasen
Chair and MP	Deputy Chair and MP	Chair of Executive Committee
Kristina Háfoss	Bjørt Samuelsen	Beinta Løwe
Kilstilla Haloss	Djørt Samuelsen	Delitta Lywe
MP and Member of Executive Committee	MP	MP
Hervør Pálsdóttir	Olga Fossdalsá	John Dalsgarð
MP	Member of Executive Committee	Member of Executive Committee
Rókur Herup Olsen	Magni Arge	Fríðbjørg Andreasen
Chair of the Young Republicans	Former MP (Danish Folketing & Løgting)	Secretary
Finnbjørn Hovsgarð	Jenus í Trøðini	Sonni á Horni
Member of Executive Committee	Member of Executive Committee	Member of Executive Committee
Lone Høeg Bejer	Kristian Oskar Henriksen	Emil Hermansen
Member of Executive Committee	Member of Executive Committee	Member of Executive Committee
Jóhan F. á Ørg	Brandar Heðinsson	
Member of Executive Committee	Member of Executive Committee	